Our world


I’ve recently been moved to a different restaurant within the company I work for. It’s borderline fine dining, as opposed to the casual family atmosphere in which I’ve worked for the past 2 1/2 years. It’s amazing to me the stark difference in eating habits of the “upper class” as opposed to the “middle class” which frequents my old workplace. Obesity in the fine dining establishment is rarely encountered and excessive refills of bread and soda are infrequent. Large portions are often boxed and taken home, rather than forced down. There’s really no hard and fast rule that applies, but it’s been surprising to me that there is such a contrast in eating habits between the restaurants. It’s just something to think about…
Gallery page for July 9-18

A big problem...

4 thoughts on “Our world

  1. Very interesting observation. Simple lessons about dining for all to follow. Your drawing expressed the situation very well. Congrats on the engagement!

  2. My husband and I have owned and operated four restaurants. All, a sort of higher end fast food.(we sold our last one in 2005) I’ve seen a lot of this and it is sad. But, I am sad because people do not always realize what it is that is making them this way. They don’t realize that most of our food is still a processed food, nor do they realize how bad it is for you. For instance, did you know that when scientists what to fatten a rat for their experiments, they use MSG to make them overeat? The true crime here is what is being added to our foods without our knowledge. These additives do terrible things to our organs, which stop functioning correctly, making it nearly impossible to lose the weight. I won’t own another restaurant unless I can make it all organic and non-processed.

    This is a wonderful sketch, and I love that you’ve brought up this subject. It is something I am very passionate about. I don’t have a weight problem, but I consider myself lucky. I stumbled upon the information before anything like that happened!

Leave a Reply

