Portrait Mania


So, this past Sunday I attended the South East Portland Art Walk. It was a pretty neat event that allowed art aficionados to go around and visit artist in their studios and homes and it was a really interesting approach to showing art. I especially enjoyed going into the studios of several artists and seeing how they had their places set up and their works in progress. That said, for the most part it was inspiring, although I must admit, some of the art being shown was of a questionable skill level. At least they had the guts to go out there and show their stuff though. There were some fantastic artists though. My favorites being Anna Magruder, Allan Stephenson (who was extremely helpful in talking with me about the process for reproducing artwork for sale), Shawn Demarest, and Amy Louise Mfuni. I came across a charcoal artist in the Ford Building that had these great big charcoal drawings which I thought looked so neat, I just had to come home and bust out with the charcoal. I don’t usually use it, but it turns out to be a really fun medium with which to work. I’ll keep working on it, and maybe someday soon, I’ll get to show my stuff.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 thoughts on “Portrait Mania

Leave a Reply

