Farmers Market


The farmer’s markets in the Portland area offer great opportunities to sit around and sketch people. The nice weather is pleasant to sit in and sketch, and the people are lounging about content with the sunshine, and the bustle of the market. I’ve had little time to sketch on my own lately, as my free time has been spent working on the covers for a series of novels, whose deadline is quickly approaching. Two out of three are finished and although I can’t show you the work here, once they’re completed I’ll surely post a link directing you to a page where you can see them. In the meantime, here’s some quick sketches of the market goers. I’ve been using a very light warm grey Pitt Pen to kind of sketch in a form and then going back into the drawing with a Pentel brush pen. I kind of like the graphite look of the pale marker and the finesse and varied contour of the brush pen over the top.

Leave a Reply

