Nine Hours of Drawing…


Pen and Inktense Pencil on Bristol


They call him the Monkey-King… actually, I’m the only one who calls him that…

This past Sunday I attended the model marathon at Hipbone Studios which consisted of a series of nine models posing nude over the course of a nine hour time frame. It was quite the test of endurance and concentration as the day went on and I can’t lie, my artistic sensibilities were a bit drained by the end. I got a bit lazy with my mark making, but tried nonetheless to glean some sort of lesson from each new model. The caliber of model was impressive and the studio space was excellent. Throughout the day I had struggles and triumphs and tried to do each successive pose in a somewhat different style or medium. I used, pen, pencil, mechanical pencil, charcoal, chalk, pastels, watercolor, brush pen, water soluble charcoal, and even an ink transfer pencil. All this was applied to pastel paper, paper for pens, recycled sketch paper, bristol, and cold press water color paper. It was a successful day all and all, and I got to see some excellent artwork by some of Portland’s other artists. I look forward to the next time I can visit Hipbone studios for one of their drop in modeling sessions. The following are some of what I feel are my more successful sketches from the day.

Brush Pen on Bristol


Scott was a very energetic model and I loved the poses he gave for his gesture drawing segment.

Brush Pen on Bristol


Samantha had great style and lines and i really enjoyed sketching her during her gesture portion as well.

Pastel and Charcoal on Canson Paper


She just had a look on her face that she was thinking of a joke and was keeping it to herself.

Mechanical Pencil on Watercolor Paper


I had the most foreshortenist seat in the room. Danged foreshortening… the bain of every artist’s existence.

Ink Transfer Pencil and Inktense Pencil


I didn’t get this girl’s name and was so tired and hungry by the time she was in her last pose, I just felt myself rushing through it.

Ink Transfer Pencil on Watercolor Paper


Julie was one of my favorite models. I wish that we got to do longer poses with her, as she had great style and movement.

Watercolor on Watercolor Paper


Jeff essentially gave us an assignment for his pose, locking his feet to the ground, he just rotated his upper body every 5 minutes for a total of 25 minutes in each pose.

Charcoal and Chalk on Watercolor Paper


Doc was made out of stone, and in one of the shorter poses he stood on his head for a whopping 10 minutes. Unbelievable!

Leave a Reply

