Pitt Pens – Revisited


After attending a recent demo by awesome artist Don colley, I decided to dust off my collection of Pitt pens and give them another shot. I’ve posted about these pens before after my last encounter with Don. You can check that out here. I’ve always liked these pens, but never really could figure out how to use them to their full potential. They’re waterproof, lightfast, somewhat transparent, and dry quickly so they’re perfect for a variety of techniques I just didn’t know how to really implement my ideas. After watching Don’s demo, looking through his sketchbooks and talking with him a bit, I got a better understanding of the pens and have been playing with them again for the past two weeks. Although I’m not too fond of the paper I’m using in my current sketchbook, (oddly enough – it’s called paper for pens) the pens work well. The paper just gets crumbly very quickly with too many layers. As I adjust and refine my technique with this re-visited medium I’ll be sure to post more. I suggest anyone out there who hasn’t used them, give them a try, and see what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

