My Daughter


On May 11, 2013 at 9:08 p.m. I became the father of a beautiful little girl. Her name is Abigail Jean and she is, in a word, awesome. The labor process was nothing they show you in the movies, nothing they tell you about in the birthing classes, and different than any birth story I had ever heard. Long story short; I was at work at 4 o’clock when my wife called me thinking she was going into labor, by 4:40 we were on our way to the hospital, checked in at 5, by 5:30 we were rushing from triage into the delivery room, things slowed down a bit at 6:45 with the insertion of the epidural, and at 9:08 out popped Abby. My lovely wife Katie endured the pain of labor with grace and poise and I respect her that much more for it. We’re enjoying spending every minute with our little girl as she poos, coos, whines, sleeps, and sneezes. These first couple of weeks have been terrific and we couldn’t be happier. She is my little muse and I’ve already started sketching and painting her little face. Here are the first couple of paintings I’ve done of my lovely little Abigail.

Abby's Hungry Face

Abby’s Hungry Face

My love

My love

2 thoughts on “My Daughter

Leave a Reply

