Going Digital


In recent years digital art techniques have been moving to the forefront of the art world. I was originally resistant to the idea that digital painting was anywhere near as good as traditional painting, but with some of the work I’ve seen produced digitally as of late I became intrigued. The tipping point was getting a book by Jason Seiler called The Complete Artist. He produces amazing painterly works digitally, he does what I want to do more than anything else, and I just really wanted to give it a go. With the goal of being a professional illustrator in mind, I think it might be a way to add some versatility to my work and a way to bust out work a little quicker than with traditional media. If i could get good at this I thought, I might make myself more marketable. So, I busted out my 15 year old wacom tablet, looked at some people digitally painting online, downloaded some free brushes and for the past couple of weeks have just been click clacking away on the tablet. Granted, it’s only been a few weeks, but I think I’m starting to learn a thing or two about digital painting. I’ve even started incorporated my scritchy sketchy sketches as under-layers that show just slightly through the digital paint kind of combining both sides of my work. Below you’ll find some of what I’ve been working on. I’m up for any tips or tricks anybody who works digitally might have, and wouldn’t mind some feedback on these sketches. I still love the scratch of pens, pushing around water, smudging ink, and layering paint traditionally, but this has been a nice experiment to see what else is out there and I think it’s actually helping with my traditional work, helping me to loosen up and, and just kind of go intuitively rather than laboring over unnecessary details.

Leave a Reply

